Moses Kuria among Ruto-allied MPs set to be chopped from key assembly commitees


The Jubilee Party has given Members of Parliament Moses Kuria, Joyce Korir, Robert Pukose and Cornelly Serem 7 days to explain why they should not be dismissed from National Assembly committees.

The Ruto-leaning MP’s received letters drafted by Emmanueal Wangwe, the Majority Whip in the National Assembly on June 3.

“Pursuant to Standing Orders 176 (1) and 176 (2) you are hereby notified that the Jubilee party which nominated you intends to discharge you, you are hereby given 7 days to respond before you are discharged,” the letter read.

MP Joyce Chepkoech is to be axed from the Labour and Social Welfare Committee, Moses Kuria from Transport, Public Works and Housing Committee, Robert Pukose from the Energy Commitee and Cornelly Serem from the Trade, Industry and Co-operative Committee.

Shortly after receiving his letter, Kuria took to social media captioning a snippet of the letter: “It is well with my soul”.

The MPs are the latest to face the axe with Jubilee Party leader President Uhuru moving to regain control of the party by kicking out Ruto allies from key positions.

On Tuesday, during a parliamentary group meeting held at the State House, National Assembly Majority Whip Benjamin Washiali and his deputy Cecily Mbarire were shown the door.

They were replaced by Navakholo MP Emmanuel Wangwe and Igembe North MP Maoka Maore respectively.

Before that ,a Jubilee purge had hit the senate where Senate Deputy Speaker Kithure Kindiki was bundled out.

His ouster had come just a week after Leader of Majority in the senate Kipchumba Murkomen and Minority Whip Susan Kihika were ousted for sabotaging the president’s agenda in what insiders called gross insubordination.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

eight + eighteen =