National govt takes over Nairobi County

Nairobi county logo

In a land mark agreement signed at State House Tuesday, Governor Mike Mbuvi Sonko and Devolution Cabinet Secretary Eugene Wamalwa and President Uhuru Kenyatta, signed an agreement, handing over functions of the Nairobi County government to the national government, pursuant to Article 187 of the Constitution.

The signing of the agreement was also witnessed by the Speaker of the Senate Kenneth Lusaka and the Attorney General Paul Kihara. 

The National government therefore, will take over the following functions of the Nairobi County Government:

  • County Health services
  • County Transport services
  • County Public Works, Utilities and Ancillary services
  • County Government Planning and Development


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

thirteen + 3 =