The selected Simbas Team that will face Brazil on Saturday.


Paul Odera has named the Simbas squad that will take on Brazil on Saturday at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport.

These two sides last locked horn in 2016 in Casablanca with the Simbas clinching the 18-17 victory.

Simbas will be eyeing their first win in the tour. They have lost to Carling Champions team and Namibia in the opening two matches.

Elkeans Musonye, Joseph Odero and Isaac Njoroge have been included in the match day squad after missing out in the first two encounters earlier this month.

Other changes in the starting line up see Brian Tanga move from the left wing to the scrum half, Ephraim Oduor starts at tight-head after coming off the bench in last week’s clash against Namibia while Andrew Matoka starts at the left wing.

The back row is unchanged with George Nyambua, Dan Sikuta and Joshua Chisanga who started against Namibia retaining their places.

John Okoth and Vincent Onyala continue in midfield for the third time in a row. Jacob Ojee stays on the right-wing and Darwin Mukidza is at fullback.

“The reason for starting Tanga at scrumhalf is because we’re trying to see if his understanding with flyhalf Jone Kubu can be transferred to the National level. Matoka moving to the wing is good for us because he’s exceptionally quick and has a huge boot so hopefully he can put in into good positions on the pitch,” said Odera on the starting line up changes.

“Odero is going to bring a lot of experience and power from the bench. It will be excellent for the Simbas to get a win tomorrow against Brazil but over and above that, the management team is looking forward to the players leaving the pitch feeling very proud of themselves.”

Simbas Line up against Brazil

 15. Darwin Mukidza, 14. Jacob Ojee, 13. Vincent Onyala, 12. John Okoth, 11. Andrew Matoka, 10. Jone Kubu, 9. Brian Tanga, 1. Ian Njenga 2. Eugene Wesonga 3. Ephraim Bwire 4. Malcolm Onsando 5. Thomas Okeyo 6. George Nyambua 7. Daniel Sikuta (Captain) 8. Joshua Chisanga  REPLACEMENTS: 16. Bonface Ochieng 17. Joseph Odero 18. Patrick Ouko 19. Brian Juma 20. Elkeans Musonye 21. Samuel Asati 22. Peter Kilonzo 23. Isaac Njoroge


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

5 × two =